Thu, Apr 9, 2015 at 7:30pm
Adam Hanney & Co.
Adrian Dyer
Ariane Jean
Bobby Desjarlais (Attica Riots)
Dominique Lemoine (À La Mode)
Jeff Bruce (Jicah/Colour Revolution)
Jordan St Cyr
Quinton Blair
Raine Hamilton
FortWhyte Alive
Alloway Reception Centre, 1961 McCreary Rd, Winnipeg, MB
Manitoba Music
ForthWhyte Alive
Advance Cost

Acoustic Country

Doors 7:30PM / Showtime 8PM / $9 in advance from

Manitoba Music and FortWhyte Alive are teaming up this month to present the Manitoba Music Winter Songwriter Retreat. The co-writing retreat will bring nine emerging songwriters together to strengthen their songwriting chops through collaboration at a secluded lakeside field station and architecturally unique cabins at FortWhyte Alive, March 29-31. 

The three-day session features a diverse group of songwriters spanning several genres, including Adam Hanney, Ariane Jean, Attica Riots' Bobby Desjarlais, À La Mode's Dominique Lemoine, Jeff Bruce of Jicah/Colour Revolution, Jordan St.Cyr, Quinton Blair, Raine Hamilton, and Moon Tan's Andrian Dyer. 

Music fans will get a rare chance to witness the collaborations live on stage in a special Manitoba Music Songwriter Concert at Alloway Reception Centre, home to the Buffalo Stone Café at FortWhyte Alive on April 9, where all nine songwriters will share their co-written tunes.  

By the end of the retreat, each songwriter added three new songs to their catalog. Previous sessions, supported by the Songwriters Association of Canada, have yielded stellar results. Ruth Moody’s collaboration with Royal Canoe's Matt Peters and producer Derek Norton, "We Can Only Listen, was featured on her JUNO Award-nominated album, The Garden. Western Canadian Music Award-winning producer Arun Chaturvedi and Sony/ATV Music Publishing artists Phil Deschambault and Heather Longstaffe, have all received multiple placements in film, television, and commercials based on music conceived at the retreat.

Explore more events