Music releases

Firecracker by The Wailin' Jennys

Firecracker by The Wailin' Jennys

By Ruth Moody

Tuesday, June 6, 2006
David Travers-Smith
Jericho Beach Music

Firecracker is The Wailin’ Jennys second release on Jericho Beach Music. This album features one traditional tune and 12 originals from the three members, Nicky Mehta, Ruth Moody and Annabelle Chvostek. The Jennys trademark three-part harmonies are still very much the foundation of the Jennys sound on this album, however, Annabelle’s songs bring grit and edginess to the sweet sound of the band. The album features Nicky on guitar and harmonica, Ruth on accordion, banjo and guitar and Annabelle on Guitar, violin and mandolin. Guest musicians include: Christian Dugas, Joe Phillips, Mike Hardwick (Eliza Gilkyson’s guitar player), Kevin Breit (former member of Norah Jones’ band), Richard Moody, Mark Mariash, Andrew Downing, John Dymond, Grant Johnson (Novillero), Jeremy Penner (The Duhks), Brian McMillan, Justin Abedin and David Travers-Smith. The album is also produced by David Travers Smith, who produced the trio's the Juno Award-winning 40 Days.

More new releases