Strong Showing for Manitoba Music at Country Music Awards

Posted on

Two prominent Manitoba acts are poised to take trophies at this year’s Canadian Country Music Awards. The nationally-televised awards show, one of Canada’s annual entertainment highlights, is part of the Canadian Country Music Association’s annual Country Music Week, taking place in Calgary September 9-12, 2005 with the awards gala on the final evening. Manitoba artists and industry professionals are up for a total of 12 awards.

The Juno-nominated Doc Walker, one of Manitoba’s most successful recording acts, has been nominated for Group of the Year, a category which the quintet won at last year’s awards ceremony. Doc Walker’s members have also been represented at the industry awards, including Drummer of the Year (Mark Branconnier, who left the band in early June and has been replaced by Chris Sutherland), Bassist of the Year (Paul Yee), and Guitarist of the Year (Murray Pulver). The band’s manager, Ron Kitchener of RGK Entertainment and Open Road Recordings, is up for Manager of the Year and Record Company Person of the Year. Doc Walker’s web master, Sean Borton, has been nominated for Web Site of the Year.

Country favourite Foster Martin Band, nominated for Independent Group of the Year for the second year in a row. Also getting some industry attention is Bruce LePerre of Dauphin's CKDM, who is nominated for On-Air Personality of the Year and Music Director of the Year (Secondary Market) again this year. CKDM is also nominated for Radio Station of the Year (Secondary Market) for the second year in a row. Julien Paquin and Todd Jordan of Paquin Entertainment have been nominated for Booking Agent of the Year, while Dauphin's Countryfest has been nominated for Country Festival, Fair or Exhibition of the Year.

Manitoba Nominees for the 2005 Canadian Country Music Awards

Group or Duo of the Year
Doc Walker

Independent Group or Duo of the Year
Foster Martin Band

Manager of the Year
Ron Kitchener (Corb Lund Band / Doc Walker / Jason McCoy / The Road Hammers)

Booking Agent of the Year Todd Jordan (Paquin Entertainment Agency)
Julien Paquin (Paquin Entertainment Agency)

b Site of the Year
Sean Borton, Web Master — (Doc Walker)

Record Company Person of the Year
Ron Kitchener (Open Road Recordings)

Country Festival, Fair, or Exhibition of the Year
Dauphin’s Countryfest – Dauphin, MB

Music Directory of the Year (Secondary Market)
Bruce Leperre – CKDM, Dauphin, MB

On-Air Personality of the Year (Secondary Market)
Bruce Leperre – CKDM, Dauphin, MB
2005 CCMA All-Star Band Award Nominees

Mark Branconnier (Doc Walker)

Paul Yee (Doc Walker)
Murray Pulver (Doc Walker)

Read more news