New Awards Recognize Manitoba Folk Acts

Posted on

Manitoba folk/roots acts have been nominated for a number of awards at the inaugural Canadian Folk Music Awards (CFMA). Four local acts are up for eight awards in six different categories, it was announced earlier this week. Awards will be handed out at the Canadian Museum of Civilization in Gatineau, Québec on December 10, 2005.

Leading with three nominations is 2005 JUNO Award-nominated roots quartet Nathan for its sophomore album Jimson Weed, competing for Best Album (Contemporary), Best Ensemble, and Best Vocal Group. Nathan recently picked up two awards at the 2005 Western Canadian Music Awards, including beating out heavyweights like Bryan Adams to be named Best Songwriter.

Also up for three awards is family bluegrass outfit House of Doc, with nods for Best New/Emerging Artist, Best Vocal Group, and Producer of the Year for Vince R. Ditrich’s work on the band’s album Prairiegrass.

The Wailin' Jennys also get a nod for Best Vocal Group for their album 40 Days, which won a 2005 JUNO Award for Roots & Traditional Album of the Year (Group). Rounding out the Manitoba Nominees is folk veteran James Keelaghan, up for Best Songwriter (English) for his album Then Again. Keelaghan has also been invited to perform as part of the awards show.

The creation of the CFMAs, set to celebrate the breadth and depth of Canadian folk music, was announced in August 2005. Unlike the Junos, WCMAs and Canadian Country Music Awards, however, the CFMAs are not organized by a non-profit board-run association but rather a committee made up mostly of musicians. The CFMA organizing committee includes established artists like Grit Laskin and Bill Garrett, and Anne Marie Hamilton and Roddy Campbell of Peguin Eggs magazine.

For a complete list of 2005 CFMA nominees, please visit

Read more news