Doc Walker Nets Important Country Nomination

Posted on

Hometown favourite Doc Walker is up for Group of the Year at the 2006 Canadian Country Music Awards (CCMA). The nationally-televised awards show, one of Canada's annual entertainment highlights, is part of the Canadian Country Music Association's annual Country Music Week, taking place in St. John September 8-11, 2006 with the awards gala on the final evening. Manitoba artists and industry professionals are up for a total of six awards.

"I’m thrilled to hear that Doc Walker is nominated for Group of the Year again at the CCMA," says Sam Baardman, MARIA's Executive Director. "This is a world-class band that deserves every bit of recognition that comes their way. They have been tireless ambassadors for Manitoba's music scene and we're proud of their continuing success.”

"It's no surprise that Doc Walker is up once again for Group of the Year," says Kevin Walters, Manager of Sound Recording Programs with MANITOBA FILM & SOUND. "They are one of Manitoba's premiere recording acts and their success reflects Manitoba artists' continued presence on the national music scene."

Three-time Juno-nominated act Doc Walker, one of Manitoba's most successful recording acts and recipient of financial support from MANITOBA FILM & SOUND and MARIA, won the Group of the Year at the 2004 awards ceremony. Doc Walker's drummer, Chris Sutherland, has also been represented at the industry awards as a nominee for All-Star Band Award. The band's Ontario-based manager, Ron Kitchener of RGK Entertainment and Open Road Recordings, is up for Manager of the Year and Record Company Person of the Year.

Also getting some industry attention is Karen Black of QX104 FM, who is nominated for Music Director of the Year. Ex-pat Julien Paquin of the Paquin Entertainment's Toronto office has been nominated for Booking Agent of the Year, while Dauphin's Countryfest has been nominated for Country Festival, Fair or Exhibition of the Year. Casino of Winnipeg's Kelly Berehulka has been nominated for Talent Buyer or Promoter of the Year.

Read more news