Five Acts Up for Indian Summer Music Awards

Posted on

Five Manitoba artists have been nominated for the 2007 Indian Summer Music Awards (ISMA). The ISMA are held annually in conjunction with the largest Aboriginal music festival in North America, which draws close to 70,000 visitors to the Summerfest Grounds on the western shore of Lake Michigan each year. The ISMA winners will be announced at an awards ceremony during the Indian Summer Festival (ISF) in Milwaukee, Wisconsin on September 7, 2007.

This year’s nominees include JC Campbell in the Alternative Rock category and Tracy Bone in the Pop category. Country crooners Ron Loutit and Don Constant are both up in the Country category, and instrumental act Longhouse has been nominated for the Native Spirit category.

Two Winnipeg-based labels, Arbor Records and Sunshine Records, have also netted three nominations for non-Manitoba artists. Arbor acts Stevie Salas and Derrick Miller are up for trophies along with Sunshine’s Jared Sowan.

In 2006, Eagle & Hawk took home two ISMAs for Alternative Rock and Classic Rock for Life Is.... The Juno-winning rock act has also performed on the main stage at Indian Summer Festival in front of a crowd of tens of thousands.

For more information on ISMA, please visit:

Read more news