15 Young Canadian Composers Win a Total of $27,000

Posted on

The SOCAN Foundation (the Foundation) today announced the recipients of the 18th Annual SOCAN Foundation Awards for Young Composers. Maxime McKinley captured first prize in the Sir Ernest MacMillan Awards category and shared second and third prizes in two other categories. Aaron Gervais was awarded first prize in the Godfrey Ridout Awards and Pierre-Marc Beaudoin won first prize in the Hugh Le Caine Awards category while sharing second prize in that same category. Eight of the 15 winners are based in or currently studying in Quebec.

This year’s competition attracted 212 entries from various regions throughout Canada, judged anonymously over three days in Toronto by a jury comprising distinguished composers Gary Kulesha, Vincent Ho and Martin Bédard. The annual SOCAN Foundation Awards recognize Canadian composers under 30 years of age for specific musical works in six categories of concert music.

“We were stunned by the orchestral performances in the submissions this year,” says Gary Kulesha, a senior lecturer in composition in the University of Toronto’s Faculty of Music. “This years submissions demonstrated originality with submissions ready to be enjoyed widely.”

“The Foundation’s Awards for Young Composers is a remarkable opportunity to celebrate and encourage the talents of Canada’s young composers in such a broad range of categories,” says Rick MacMillan, Manager, SOCAN Foundation. The Awards are just one example of the Foundation’s efforts to enhance and further the growth of music creation in Canada.

Additional Award recipients include: Roger Feria JR (second prize), Nicolas Gilbert (third prize) and Maxime McKinley (third prize) in the Sir Ernest MacMillan Awards; Maxime McKinley (second prize), Charles-Antoine Fréchette (second prize), Nicolas Gilbert (third prize) and Pierre-Olivier Roy (third prize) in the Serge Garant Awards; Félix Frédéric Baril (second prize), Taylor Brook (third prize) and Eugene Astapov (third prize) in the Pierre Mercure Awards; Luke Nickel (second prize), Trevor Grahl (second prize) and Christian David Bérubé (third prize) in the Godfrey Ridout Awards; Pierre-Marc Beaudoin (second prize), Gabriel Dufour Laperrière (second prize) and Émilie Payeur (third prize) in the Hugh Le Caine Awards. (Recipients’ bios and awards categories attached.)

About the SOCAN Foundation
Founded in 1992, the SOCAN Foundation is dedicated to fostering musical creativity and promoting a better understanding of the role of music creators in today's society. The Foundation is an independent organization guided by its own board of directors. The board, which consists of composers, songwriters and music publishers, reflects concert music and popular music genres as well as the geographic and linguistic regions of Canada. The Foundation is closely aligned to the interests of the members of SOCAN: composers, lyricists, songwriters and publishers of musical works.

Read more news