Doc Walker Named Group of the Year

Posted on

Doc Walker has continued its domination of the country music world this year. The country rock trio was named Group of the Year at the 2009 Canadian Country Music Awards on September 13. The win was announced on September 13 in Vancouver, at the nationally-broadcast gala hosted by Jason Priestley. Doc Walker performed live on the show and played the CCMA’s popular FanFest event on September 12.

Doc Walker guitarist, Murray Pulver, also took home the CCMA All Star Band Award for Guitar Player of the Year. The band’s website, created by Winnipeg-based company House of Bands, was named Website of The Year.
Described as Canada's hardest working country band, Doc Walker took home 11 awards at last year’s CCMAs in Winnipeg, including hardware for the coveted Group of the Year award. The band also picked up the 2009 JUNO Award for Country Recording of the Year in last March for Beautiful Life.

On September 8, Doc Walker released its latest album on Open Road Recordings, Go, and kicked off its Speed of Life Tour, which will take the band across Canada with a stop in Winnipeg on October 9 at the Pantages Playhouse. “Coming Home,” the first video from Go, topped the chart this week on CMT's Chevy Cross Canada Countdown. 

Read more news