AMP Camp 2010 begins!

Posted on

Twenty Aboriginal musicians from across Canada will converge at Gimli’s Misty Lake Lodge for the fifth installment of AMP Camp, which runs March 21-26, 2010. Hosted by Manitoba Music’s Aboriginal Music Program (AMP), the week-long professional and artistic development residency project gives Aboriginal recording artists a chance to develop their understanding of the music industry along with their ability to succeed in it.

2010 will mark the fifth year for AMP Camp. Past participants, including 2009 JUNO Award nominee Tracy Bone and 2009 Canadian Folk Music Award winner Don Amero, have gone on release acclaimed albums, receive multiple music awards and nominations, and make music their full-time job.

Made possible by a partnership between Manitoba Music and the Music Section of the Canada Council for the Arts, the five-day retreat includes close to 12 hours of professional development workshops each day. Workshops focus on both music business topics and creative development labs.

This year's faculty includes many established artists and music industry professionals, including: JUNO Award-winning songwriter Leela Gilday, marketing expert Andres Mendoza, JUNO Award-nominated recording artists Kinnie Starr, Order of Canada recipient Heather Bishop, world class dobro player Doug Cox, hip-hop booking agent Chris McKee, NCI FM’s David McLeod, acclaimed percussionist Sal Ferraras, Manitoba Film & Music’s Jason Smith, sound technician Matt Mayor, and AMP Camp alumni Bone, Amero, and Marie-Josee Dandeneau.

The artists have been invited to AMP Camp 2010 are:
Becky Thomas, Saskatchewan
Bonnie Couchie, Ontario
Brandy McCallum, British Columbia
Carrielynn Victor, British Columbia
Cathleen Lesperance, Saskatchewan
Cris Derksen, British Columbia
Dustin Harder (Dusty Roads Band), Manitoba
Evan Reeve, Manitoba
Janet Rogers, British Columbia
Jasmine Netsena, Northwest Territories
John J Cook, Saskatchewan
Kristi Lane Sinclair, British Columbia
Leonard Sumner, Manitoba
Meghan Meisters (isKwé), Ontario/Manitoba
Rodney Contois, Manitoba
Ron Harris, British Columbia
Sonia Eidse, Manitoba
Teresa Bear-Linklater, Saskatchewan
Trisha North (Sadie), Manitoba
Tyler Bear, Saskatchewan

Manitoba Music would like to acknowledge the financial support of the Canada Council for the Arts, Manitoba Culture, Heritage & Tourism, Manitoba Film & Music, and the Manitoba Arts Council.

For more information about AMP Camp and Manitoba Music’s Aboriginal Music Program please visit

For more information about the Canada Council for the Arts please visit

Read more news