Manitoba Singer/Songwriters Up for International Songwriting Prize

Posted on

Several Manitoba singer/songwriters are finalists and semi-finalists in this year's prestigious International Songwriting Competition

Jaylene Johnson's song "Handsome," co-written with Winnipeg-based producer/songwriter Chris Burke-Gaffney and Halifax-based sister act The Keats, is a finalist in the country category. Her song "Joy," co-written with fellow Winnipegger Arun Chaturvedi, is also a semi-finalist. Last year, two of Johnson's works were in the finals. Johnson also co-wrote The Keats' song "Give Me A Ring," which is up for an East Coast Music Award, and contributed to Eagle & Hawk's Juno-nominated album, The Great Unknown.

No stranger to songwriting accolades, Scott Nolan is a finalist in the Americana category for his song, "Trial Separation." A video for the song is in the works while his new album, Montgomery Eldorado, hits streets on April 28 via Transistor 66.

Round out the Manitoba finalists is Abstract Artform's Shea Malcolmson, who is up for the prize in the R&B/Hip-hop category for the outfit's song "Here We Are," off their album Prairie Kid.

Cat Jahnke landed two songs in the list of semi-finalists, which also includes locals Ian La Rue, Katherine Penfold and Gerry Atwell, and Bubba B the MC (Robert Wilson, Adrian McLean, Byron Foster)

This year's ISC attracted over 15,000 entries from over 100 countries, judged by top artists like Tom Waits, Peter Gabriel, Rihanna, and Regina Spektor as well as industry big wigs like Amanda Ghost (President of Epic Records) and Ric Arboit (President Nettwerk Music Group). 

Fans can get in on the ISC action by voting for their favourite songs until March 31 at Winners will be announced in late April or early May.

Shea Malcolmson (Abstract Artform) - "Here We Are" | R&B/Hip-hop
Jaylene Johnson, Chris Burke-Gaffney, Sharlene Loveless, Jolene Keats - "Handsome" | Country
Scott Nolan - "Trial Separation" | Americana 

Cat Jahnke - "Solomon Says" | Folk/Singer-Songwriter
Cat Jahnke - "Sweetie Pie" | Performance
Ian La Rue (Ian La Rue & The Condor) - "Sanguine Cursive" | Rock
Jaylene Johnson & Arun Chaturvedi - "Joy" | AAA (Adult Album Alternative)
Katherine Penfold & Gerry Atwell - "Please Forgive Me" | Adult Contemporary (AC)
Robert Wilson, Adrian McLean, Byron Foster (Bubba B the MC) - "Mr.Frequency" | R&B/Hip-Hop

Read more news