Doc Walker Lands Favourite Country Group of the Year at The Indies

Posted on

Maybe we don't know what's in everyone's luggage, but at least one local band is coming back from Toronto's Canadian Music Week with some hardware.

Portage la Prairie country trio Doc Walker was named Favourite Country Artist/Group of the Year at the Independent Music Awards ("The Indies") on the strength of its latest acclaimed recording, the JUNO Award-nominated 16 & 1. The band -- which includes Chris Thorsteinson, Murray Pulver, and Dave Wasyliw -- picked up the award when they were handed out at the Fairmont Royal York Hotel on March 24.

Canadian Music Week encompasses not only the popular music festival, but also a conference, trade show, and multiple awards shows. This year, several local artists, music companies, and radio stations were up for honours at three separate awards, including The Indies, Canadian Music and Broadcast Industry Awards, and Canadian Radio Music Awards. Click here for details on the Manitoba nominees.

Manitoba audiences will have a few chances to see Doc Walker this summer, including a June 15 date in Steinbach and a hometown show at PlaP on July 7. While you wait, check out the band's new video for "Where I Belong"...

Read more news