Manitoba Artists Pick Up Six Aboriginal Peoples Choice Music Awards

Posted on

Best New Artist winner Leonard Sumner

Manitoba artists have picked up six Aboriginal Peoples Choice Music Awards (APCMA) this year. Winnipeg Boyz, Indian City, Leonard Sumner, Jason Lepine, and Nelson Little all earned hardware at a nationally-televised gala at the MTS Centre in Winnipeg on September 12 and the invite-only Ohshkii Awards Night at the Winnipeg Art Gallery the night before. 

Hip hop act Winnipeg Boyz was a double winner this year, picking up awards for Best Group or Duo and Best Rap / Hip Hop CD for its latest, Ab Initio. The duo features Jon-C and Charlie Fettah of nine-time APCMA-winning hip hop group, Winnipeg's Most. 

Pop/rock outfit Indian City added to its already-impressive list of awards with a win for Aboriginal Songwriter of the Year for the title track off its sophomore release, Colors. The group also picked up two Indian Summer Music Awards earlier this month. 

Singer/songwriter and MC Leonard Sumner picked up his first music award with a win for Best New Artist. Sumner, who released his acclaimed debut Rez Poetry in 2013, won the Winnipeg Arts Council's On The Rise Award in June.  

Fiddler Jason Lepine won in the Best Fiddle CD category for his latest album, Drivin' Force.

Nelson Little, who was a nominee for Best Country CD and performed at the gala, was honoured with the Most Outstanding Aboriginal Manitoban Award earlier in the week. 

Manitoba artists were nominated for 14 APCMA this year. The APCMA take place during the annual Manito Ahbee Festival, which runs September 10-14. Now in its ninth year, Manito Ahbee features a variety of events including an Indigenous Marketplace and Trade Show, International Competition Pow Wow, and an education conference. 

For a complete list of 2014 APCMA winners, please visit

Read more news