Manitoba Artists Triumphant at the 2015 JUNO Gala Dinner & Awards

Posted on

The Bros. Landreth accept their award at the 2015 JUNO Gala Dinner & Awards

The envelopes were opened, the names were read, and Manitobans are heading home with five JUNO Awards. The glittery 2015 JUNO Gala Dinner & Awards, which took place at the Hamilton Convention on March 14, handed out hardware to music legend Fred Penner, groundbreaking throat singer Tanya Tagaq, country blues outfit The Bros. Landreth, artist Roberta Hansen and photographer Mike Latchislaw, and Brandon-born violin virtuoso James Ehnes. Local acts were up for several awards this year, including nine nominations for artists that currently call Manitoba home. 

The incomparable Fred Penner was on hand to accept a JUNO for Children's Album of the Year for his latest recording, Where in the World. Now a three-time JUNO winner, Penner recently picked up a Canadian Folk Music Award and was inducted to the Hall of Fame at the 2014 Western Canadian Music Awards.

Tanya Tagaq continued her incredible streak with her first JUNO win, for Aboriginal Album of the Year for her album, Animism. Also a nominee for Alternative Album of the Year, Tagaq won the prestigious Polaris Music Prize in 2014, landing rave reviews and significant national and international media attention, including recent nods from Rolling Stone and NPR for her upcoming SXSW appearances. Tagaq will be a presenter at the JUNO Awards Broadcast on March 15. 

The Bros. Landreth earned their first JUNO for their debut, Let It Lie, which won for Roots Traditional Album of the Year in the group category. The band has been on a hot streak, signing with U.S. label Slate Creek Records, winning a Canadian Folk Music Award for best new act, launching a video on CMT, and garnering accolades from international media, including a spot on Rolling Stone's list of country artist to watch at SXSW next week. Watch The Bros. Landreth perform "I Am The Fool" in the Loft Sessions

Steve Bell's 25th anniversary album, Pilgrimage, landed a JUNO in the Recording Package of the Year category for art director/designer/illustrator Roberta Hansen and photographer Mike Latchislaw. 

A double-winner last year, Ehnes picked up the JUNO for Classical Album of the Year: Solo or Chamber Ensemble for his recording, Bartok: Chamber Works for Violin Vol. 3.

Many of this year’s Manitoba winners and nominees have participated in Manitoba Music’s professional and market development programs during their careers, accessing assistance to showcase in new markets and in making critical business contacts. Manitoba Music’s programs are supported by the Government of Canada through Western Economic Diversification Canada, the Province of Manitoba, FACTOR through the financial support of the Government of Canada through the Department of Canadian Heritage (Canada Music Fund) and of Canada's Private Radio Broadcasters, Manitoba Film & Music, The Jim Pattison Broadcast Group, Canada Council for the Arts, and The SOCAN Foundation.

For a complete list of 2015 JUNO Awards winners, go to

Read more news