Manitoba Music Announces New Board of Directors for 2015-16 and Inaugural Kevin Walters Legacy Award Recipient

Posted on

Sean McManus and Paul Jordan

Manitoba Music announced its new Board of Directors for 2015-16 and celebrated another busy and exciting year at its Annual General Meeting on June 24 at new Winnipeg music hotspot, The Good Will Social Club. 

Manitoba Music is the hub of Manitoba’s vibrant music community. A member-based, not-for-profit industry association, it represents over 750 members in all facets of the music industry, including artists and bands, agents and managers, venues and promoters, studios and producers, and more in every genre. Through its programs and services, Manitoba Music provides information, education and industry development opportunities to nurture, develop, and promote the growth and sustainability of the Manitoba music industry.

"We are fortunate to count on the support, enthusiasm, and continued commitment of many funders, sponsors, partners," said Manitoba Music’s president, Paul Jordan. “I would like to thank my fellow board members, who all generously volunteer their time to support and help Manitoba Music flourish."

"Every year is eventful for the Manitoba music community and this past year was especially so, from the Year of Music and hosting BreakOut West to the numerous other exciting initiatives and events that happened. We owe many thanks to our creative and entrepreneurial members, who are the reason we're all here,” said Manitoba Music’s executive director, Sean McManus.

Manitoba Music would like to thank departing directors Jason Smith and Stuart Duncan for their years of hard work, dedication, commitment, and passion for Manitoba Music and its membership. Each has left an indelible mark on our association and their perspectives and leadership will be missed.

Manitoba Music is pleased to welcome Cheryl Grewar, Irina Ivanov Bissonnette, and Rachel Margolis to the Manitoba Music Board of Directors. Each brings a unique perspective and valuable experience that will be assets to the work of the Board and the association.

At the AGM, the Board of Directors also announced the creation of the new Kevin Walters Legacy Award, in honour of Kevin Walters, a long time Manitoba Music board member and music industry legend, who passed away last year. The award recognizes a young, emerging professional currently working towards a career in the music industry and is intended to contribute to the individual's professional development. The inaugural recipient is Stu Anderson of Mighty Cypress Talent. After working for several years at Paquin Entertainment Group, Anderson recently launched his own company and manages 2015 JUNO Award-winning group The Bros. Landreth, as well as booking talent for several local music festivals, and has been nominated for Manager of the Year at the upcoming Western Canadian Music Awards.

Manitoba Music 2015-16 Board of Directors
Paul Jordan, The Forks Renewal Corporation - President
Don Amero, Artist
Ray Beaudry, Le Garage Café
Stephen Carroll, Manitoba Film & Music
David “Bucky” Driedger, Royal Canoe
Cheryl Grewar, Frantic Films
Morgan Hamill, Winnipeg Folk Festival
Irina Ivanov Bissonnette, Festival du Voyageur
Tom Kormylo, Pitblado LLP
Rachel Margolis, Aikens Law
Vanessa Kuzina, Artist

Manitoba Music's 2014-15 Annual Report is available online at

Read more news