Manitoba Artists Land Top Honours at 37th Annual Covenant Awards

Posted on

The Color

Manitoba artists picked up top honours at this year's Covenant Awards, which honour Canadian Christian music. Steve BellThe Color, and Fresh IE picked up multiple awards at the 37th annual gala on November 5.

Bell continues to gather accolades for his multi-disc, 25th anniversary release, Pilgrimage, winning Folk Album of the Year and Album Artwork of the Year for design by JUNO-winner Roberta Hansen.

Grammy-nominated rapper/songwriter/songwriter Fresh IE picked up hardware for Artist of the Year, Rap Song of the Year, and Collaboration of the Year (with Paul Brandt, The Color, Cynthia Hamar, The City Harmonic, Fraser Campbell, Tasman Jude, Scribe, Cote, One8Tea, Tuzil, Jon Loeppky, and Matt Gilman).

Winkler-basd pop rock outfit The Color landed Pop Song of the Year for its song, "One Sure Thing".

Former Manitoban artists Tim Neufeld and Drew Brown also brought home Covenant Awards this year. 

The Covenant Awards are produced by Gospel Music Association of Canada, a not-for-profit that has been promoting the growrth and ministry of Christian music arts in Canada since 1974. Visit to see all of this year's award winners.

Read more news