Manitoba Artists and Industry Land Western Canadian Music Awards in Edmonton

Posted on

The Lytics
Big Dave McLean
BreakOut West
Paquin Entertainment / Paquin Artists Agency
The Lytics
West End Cultural Centre

Manitobans Take Top Honours in Hip Hop, Electronic, Blues, Visual Media Composition, and Live Music Categories

Artists and industry from Manitoba picked up hardware in seven categories at this year’s Western Canadian Music Awards (WCMA) in Edmonton, taking top artistic honours for hip hop, electronic/dance, blues, and visual media composition while highlighting Manitoba’s strong live music community. Celebrating the accomplishments of some of Western Canada's best and brightest, the envelopes were opened at a concert on September 14 that kicked off the BreakOut West festivities and at an industry brunch on September 16.

World-touring hip hop heroes The Lytics earned the award for Rap/Hip Hop Artist of the Year. Powerhouse singer/songwriter IsKwé won in the Electronic/Dance Artist of the Year category. Legendary guitarist Big Dave McLean picked up Blues Artist of the Year. Composer and Royal Canoe member Matthew Schellenberg landed Visual Media Composer of the Year for his work on the Winnipeg-produced movie, Lovesick.

Manitoba’s industry entrepreneurs and music companies earned accolades at the Industry Awards. Paquin Artist Agency was recognized for its Impact in Artist Development. A double winner this year, venerable venue West End Cultural Centre built on last year’s win for the Community Excellence Award adding a second award for Impact in Live Music.

The awards are part of BreakOut West, which features a professional development-focused conference and export development showcase festival. This year’s showcasing acts include Manitoba artists 3PEAT, Alpha Toshineza, Attica Riots, Bright Righteous, Hearing Trees, Jocelyne Baribeau, Kayla Luky, Kelly Bado, Madame Diva, Mobina Galore, Mobina Galore, Moon Tan, Rayannah, and VIKINGS. Read more about the BreakOut West Festival

BreakOut West presents an important opportunity for emerging and established artists to be a part of the Western Canadian music community. Participating artists and other music professionals have the chance to meet key industry stakeholders, creating the opportunity for a new wave of exciting industry developments from record deals to international tours.



Blues Artist of the Year
Big Dave McLean (MB)

Children's Artist of the Year 
Ginalina (BC)

Classical Artist/Ensemble of the Year
Standing Wave (BC)

Classical Composition of the Year
"Immersion" - Jordan Nobles (BC)

Country Artist of the Year
The Washboard Union (BC)

Electronic/Dance Artist of the Year
IsKwé (MB)

Francophone Artist of the Year
Ponteix (SK)

Indigenous Artist of the Year
Jay Gilday (AB)

Instrumental Artist of the Year
Five Alarm Funk (BC)

Jazz Artist of the Year
Michael Kaeshammer (BC)

Metal/Hard Music Artist of the Year
Striker (AB)

Pop Artist of the Year 
Andy Shauf (SK)

Producer of the Year 
Jesse Gander (BC)

Rap/Hip Hop Artist of the Year
The Lytics (MB)

Rock Artist of the Year 
Dan Mangan (BC)

Roots Duo/Group of the Year 
100 Mile House (AB)

Roots Solo Artist of the Year 
Corb Lund (AB)

Songwriter(s) of the Year 
Andy Shauf - "The Magician" (SK)

Spiritual Artist of the Year
Warren Dean Flandez (BC)

Urban Artist of the Year
Nuela Charles (AB)

Video Director of the Year
Zach Wilson (SK)

Visual Media Composer of the Year 
Matthew Schellenberg (MB)

World Artist of the Year
Andino Suns (SK)


Audio Engineering Award
Sheldon Zaharko (BC)

BreakOut Artist of the Year
The Harpoonist & The Axe Murderer (BC)

Community Excellence Award 
West End Cultural Centre (MB)

Excellence in Visual Design
Renée Mak (BC)

Impact in Artist Development
Paquin Artists Agency (MB)

Impact in Live Music 
West End Cultural Centre (MB)

Impact in Music Marketing 
Susan Busse - Susan Busse PR (SK)

Recording of the Year
Andy Shauf - The Party (SK)

2017 Heritage Award
Ken Regan

2017 Kevin Walters Industry Builder Award
Kathy Kirby (posthumously)

2017 Hall of Fame Inductee
Paul Brandt

Read more news