Artists & Media from Manitoba Land Nominations for the 2019 Indigenous Music Awards

Posted on

Don Amero and Hellnback
Don Amero
Manito Ahbee Festival
Rising Sun Productions Inc.
Vince Fontaine

Indigenous Recording Acts from Manitoba Up for Hardware in Best Country and Rap/Hip Hop Album Categories, Best Producer/Engineer, Best Music Video

Artists and media from Manitoba have earned nominations for this year’s Indigenous Music Awards. The IMAs – which recognize the accomplishments of First Nations, Metis, and Inuit recording artists and music industry professionals from around the globe – will reveal the winners at this year's gala on May 17 at the Club Regent Event Centre in Winnipeg. 

A double nominee this year, JUNO-nominated singer/songwriter Don Amero has picked up a nomination for Best Country Album for his latest release, Evolution, and Best Music Video for "Church".

Hip hop artist Hellnback is also a double nominee this year, with nods for Best Rap/Hip Hop Album and Best Producer/Engineer for #Fourteen91.

Vince Fontaine (Rising Sun Productions) and Chris Burke-Gaffney (CBG Artist Development) are up for  Best Producer/Engineer for their work on Cluster Stars, the album by Calgary-based artist Sandra Sutter. 

CBC Radio: Unreserved has picked up a nomination for the Best Radio Station Program Promoting Indigenous Music.

Manitoba-born artist NADJIWAN, who is now based in Ontario, is up for Best Rock Album for Tomahawk Rock.

Some of this year’s nominees from across the country have participated in Manitoba Music’s Indigenous Music Development Program initiatives, including the Indigenous Music Residency and Market Builder Residency for Indigenous Artists and Industry. Recent participants include IMA nominees Vince Fontaine, Celeigh Cardinal, and Jeremy Dutcher. 

The IMAs take place during the Manitoba Ahbee Festival, which runs from May 15 to 19, 2019 in Winnipeg and includes a music conference, international pow wow, trade show and marketplace, youth education day, and more.

Manitoba Music's programs and services are made possible by the generous support of the Province of Manitoba, FACTOR through the financial support of the Government of Canada and Canada's private radio broadcasters, Manitoba Film & Music, The Jim Pattison Broadcast Group, The SOCAN Foundation, and members of the music industry of Manitoba.

For a complete list of 2019 IMA nominees, please visit

Read more news