Vagina Witchcraft Nominated for Polaris Music Prize Long List

Posted on

Vagina Witchcraft

The Polaris Music Prize ended months of debate and speculation with the announcement of this year's long list of top Canadian albums and Vagina Witchcraft has earned a coveted nomination. 

Fronted by nonbinary poet and activist Kayla Fernandes, Vagina Witchcraft dives headfirst into deeply personal topics concerning mental health, depression, heartbreak and anger. The four-piece doom metal-hardcore band from Winnipeg draws influence from classics like Black Sabbath combined with the sheer, combative energy of hardcore punk. They released their self-titled debut album October 20, 2020 on CD. It is available for purchase on Bandcamp, and can be found on all major streaming services. 

Shoegaze act Zoon, aka Daniel Monkman who was raised in Selkirk and is now based in Hamilton, also earned a spot on the long list with his album, Bleached Wavves, which was produced by J. Riley Hill.

The slate of albums was put forward by the 199 member jury -- which includes national music journalists, broadcasters, and bloggers. The coveted prize awards to $50,000 to the best full-length Canadian album, while short listed artists each receive $3,000 courtesy of Slaight Music.

The jury makes its selection entirely on artistic merit. Past winners include Backxwash (2020), Haviah Mighty (2019), Jeremy Dutcher (2018), Lido Pimienta (2017), Kaytranada (2016), Buffy Sainte-Marie (2015), Tanya Tagaq (2014), Godspeed You! Black Emperor (2013), Feist (2012), Arcade Fire (2011), Karkwa (2010), Fucked Up (2009), Caribou (2008), Patrick Watson (2007) and Final Fantasy / Owen Pallett (2006).

The 10-album Short List will be revealed on July 15 as part of a two-hour special during Drive on CBC Music and the 2021 Polaris Music Prize winner will be revealed this fall via CBC, with more details TBA.  

Past nominees from Manitoba include: Begonia (2020), Cannon Bros. (2012), Christine Fellows (2008), Figure Walking (2017), Greg MacPherson (2014, 2010), Imaginary Cities (2011), John K. Samson (2017, 2012), KEN Mode (2013), Propagandhi (2018), Super Duty Tough Work (2020), The Weakerthans (2008 Short List), William Prince (2020).

The 2021 Polaris Music Prize Long List

Art Bergmann - Late Stage Empire Dementia
Bernice - Eau De Bonjourno
The Besnard Lakes - The Besnard Lakes Are The Last of the Great Thunderstorm Warnings
Leanne Betasamosake Simpson - Theory of Ice
Cadence Weapon - Parallel World
Charlotte Cardin - Phoenix
CFCF - memoryland
Clairmont The Second - IT'S NOT HOW IT SOUNDS
Helena Deland - Someone New
DijahSB - Head Above The Waters
Kathleen Edwards - Total Freedom
Dominique Fils-Aimé - Three Little Words
Fiver with the Atlantic School of Spontaneous Composition - Fiver with the Atlantic School of Spontaneous Composition
Thanya Iyer - KIND
Yves Jarvis - Sundry Rock Song Stock
Rochelle Jordan - Play With the Changes
LAL - Meteors Could Come Down
Daniel Lanois - Heavy Sun
Thierry Larose - Cantalou
Russell Louder - Humor
Elliot Maginot - Easy Morning
Mustafa - When Smoke Rises
Laura Niquay - Waska Matisiwin
Nyssa - Girls Like Me
The OBGMs - The Ends
Dorothea Paas - Anything Can't Happen
Klô Pelgag - Notre-Dame-des-Sept-Douleurs
Savannah Ré - Opia
Allison Russell - Outside Child
Julien Sagot - Sagot
Sargeant X Comrade - Magic Radio
Shabason, Krgovich & Harris - Philadelphia
Yu Su - Yellow River Blue
Julian Taylor - The Ridge
TEKE::TEKE - Shirushi
Vagina Witchcraft - Vagina Witchcraft
The Weather Station - Ignorance
Zoon - Bleached Wavves


Read more news