James Cohen and the Prairie Roots Rockers

Classic Rock Roots

James Cohen and the Prairie Roots Rockers


James Cohen and the Prairie Roots Rockers are a Winnipeg-based roots rock band formed in 2011 and have had five songs chart nationally on the Mediabase and Cashbox Canada charts. Their debut album was released in October 2011 on the Soccermom Records/Warner Music Canada label.Their first single, "So Long Sweet Deception" appeared on the Mediabase Canadian Active Rock Top 50 Chart for a total of 16 weeks in 2012 reaching as high as #32. Their follow up singles entitled "These Long Nights" (#70) , "Sweet Lady Jane" (#78)  and "Freight Train" (#88) all received airplay on a variety of Canadian commercial rock radio stations.They have played the Canadian Music Week Festival twice ( 2012 and 2013 ) and were named as a "band to watch" by New Canadian Music in 2013.

The band has toured British Columbia and Ontario to build up a base of support and in response to airplay in specific markets. They hope to continue building a fan base and intend on concentrating on their hometown market of Winnipeg in the coming months. During Juno Week in late March 2014, the Prairie Roots Rockers shared a live billing with Eagle and Hawk.

The Prairie Roots Rockers were part of the 2015 Grey Cup Festival held in Winnipeg in November 2015 and played at the University of Winnipeg as part of the Nissan Titan Street Festival the day before the big game.

In February 2016 James signed over 34 original songs to Americana Music Publishing Inc. (now Dept. 9 Music Inc.) to form part of their song catalogue and became part of their roster of artists. His song "These Long Nights"  was featured in the soundtrack for the film "Gone Tomorrow"  released in 2016.

James and his band also played the RBC Winnipeg Convention Centre as part of the Winnipeg Symphony Orchestra 2016 and 2017 Galas and are set to perform again with the WSO in 2021 at the Manitoba Centennial Concert Hall.

Music World Magazine featured the band in an article in July 2020 focusing on their song "These Long Nights" which has been re-released in a new video format. In addition, a new video for "Dreaming My Life Away" from their 2011 debut album was re-released later in the summer of 2020 and the song was included in the November 2020 Top 20 Pick Hits Chart for Cashbox Radio Canada , one of the country's leading music websites. "Dreaming My Life Away" will also be featured in the upcoming Hindsight's 2020 New Year's Eve Show online as we all say goodbye to 2020 and hope for better days ahead in 2021.

The band consists of founder and principal songwriter James Cohen on guitars and vocals,Lloyd Peterson on guitars and backing vocals,Bruce Jacobs on bass guitar and backing vocals, Kyle McKiernan on keyboards and Steve Martens on drums.

Please visit www.prairierootsrockers.com for additional information and an opportunity to listen to their songs.


James Cohen

Browse the directory