2007 Polaris Music Prize

Posted on

Steve Jordan is the founder and Executive Director of the Polaris Music Prize. Steve is a former A&R Executive with Warner Music Canada and True North Records.

The operation of a not-for-profit organization that annually honours, celebrates and rewards creativity and diversity in Canadian recorded music by recognizing, then marketing the albums of the highest artistic integrity, without regard to musical genre, professional affiliation, or sales history, as judged by a panel of selected critics and experts.

$20,000 Polaris Music Prize to be decided and awarded - on September 24, 2007 in Toronto - to the artist deemed to have recorded the Canadian album of the year.

Arcade Fire, The Besnard Lakes, The Dears, Julie Doiron,  Feist,  Junior Boys, Miracle Fortress,  Joel Plaskett,  Chad VanGaalen,  Patrick Watson

Terry Canham, Green note
Kim Cooke, MapleMusic Recordings
Steve Kane, Warner Music Canada
Liisa Ladouceur, journalist
Jack Ross, The Agency Group
Jacob Smid, Emerge Entertainment
Chris Taylor, Taylor Mitsopulos Burshtein / Last Gang Recordings

Jurors have been selected by the Polaris Music Prize board of directors. The jury list will include over 170 local and national music journalists, broadcasters and bloggers. To ensure an impartial outcome no one with direct financial relationships with artists is eligible to become a jury member. The organization itself is a registered, not-for-profit corporation.


Read more news