Greg MacPherson Makes Polaris Prize Long List

Posted on

The Polaris Music Prize has released the 2010 long list, comprising the top 40 Canadian albums of the year, and Greg MacPherson is on it. His latest album, Mr. Invitation, was put forward by the 180 member jury -- including national music journalists, broadcasters, and bloggers.

Released on Manitoba indie label Smallman Records in March, the album has already received outstanding reviews from the likes of Exclaim! and landed in the top 20 of most added albums on college radio charts in Canada and the U.S.

The prestigious Polaris Prize, now in its fifth year, awards $20,000 to the best full-length Canadian album. Past winners include Fucked Up, Final Fantasy, Caribou, and Patrick Watson. Unlike many awards, the jury makes its selection entirely on artistic merit and not sales figures. 

Last year, two Manitoba acts were long listed: Christine Fellows and The Weakerthans. The Weakerthans made it to the short list for their release, Reunion Tour

The Polaris Jury will next determine the 10 album short list, which will be revealed July 6 and the final winner will be announced on September 6 at a gala event.  

Click here to see the complete 2010 Polaris long list.

Read more news