Doc Walker Named CCMA Group of the Year for the Fourth Time

Posted on

Doc Walker has been named the Group of the Year for the fourth time by the 2010 Canadian Country Music Awards. This is the third consecutive win in this category for the Portage la Prairie country rock trio, who posted  video from backstage just after the win. Hardware was handed out at the nationally-televised awards gala on September 12 in Edmonton.  

Guitarist Murray Pulver and dummer Steve Broadhurt also picked up honours for the All-Star Band Award while the band's web designer, Winnipegger Ashley Harms, tied for Website of the Year. Stephano Barberis won for Video Director of the Year for his work on Doc Walker "I'm Gonna Make You Love Me," as well as videos for The Higgins and Jessie Farrell.

Doc Walker landed nominations for an impressive five artistic and six industry CCMAs this year, including the Fan’s Choice Award, Single of the Year, Songwriters of the Year, and Album of the Year.  

Manitoba artists and industry have an unprecedented 20 chances to pick up hardware at the CCMAs this year, incuding nods for singer/songwriter Ridley Bent,  multi-instrumentalist Grant Siemens, Kelly Berehulka of Casinos of Winnipeg, Rob Waloschuk of Dauphin’s Countryfest, Dauphin’s Countryfest, Paquin Entertainment, Hank FM’s Abbey White, and CKDM’s Bruce Leperre.

Read more news