CARAS Announces 2005 Inductees Into Hall of Fame

Posted on

Excitement around the 2005 JUNO Awards is steadily building as representatives The Canadian Academy of Recording Arts and Sciences (CARAS) came to town to announce the latest inductees into The Canadian Music Hall of Fame. Legendary music icons The Tragically Hip, who were present for the November 24 announcement just hours before taking to the MTS Centre stage for a nearly sold-out performance, will be inducted on April 3 on the same stage when the JUNO Awards will be hosted in Winnipeg.

The announcement was made at a press conference in the newly-opened Exchange Restaurant at the MTS Centre. Minister of Culture Eric Robinson and Winnipeg mayor Sam Katz spoke, along with Kevin Walters of Manitoba Film & Sound. CARAS chairman Ross Reynolds and president Melanie Berry flew in from Toronto to make the special announcement.

One of Canada's most beloved and critically-acclaimed musical acts for over two decades, The Tragically Hip have achieved almost unparalleled popularity with over six million albums sold in Canada alone, as well as 31 JUNO Award nominations and 11 wins. The band is currently on a cross-country tour promoting its latest release, In Between Evolution. The Hip will be honoured at the 2005 JUNO Gala Dinner and Awards ceremony on April 2, 2005 at the Winnipeg Convention Centre, and on CTV's broadcast of The 2005 JUNO Awards on April 3, 2005, from the MTS Centre.

“We are honoured to have The Tragically Hip join the Canadian Music Hall of Fame,” said Melanie Berry, President of CARAS, in a press release. “They have not only excelled at their craft on stages around the world, they have also redefined what music is here at home in Canada. They have created a genre that is distinctively their own, transcending musical stereotypes.”

The Canadian Music Hall of Fame was established in 1978 by CARAS to honour individuals or groups who have made an outstanding contribution toward the greater international recognition of Canadian artists and music. There are currently over 30 inductees into the Canadian Music Hall of Fame including: Winnipeggers Lenny Breau, The Guess Who, and Neil Young. Other inductees include: Glenn Gould, John Kay, Joni Mitchell, Anne Murray, Oscar Peterson, Rush, and The Band among others. Last year’s inductee was producer/musician Bob Ezrin. For more information on the 2005 JUNO Awards, please visit

Read more news