Past song of the week / September 2013

Federal Lights
"We All Break"

From the album We Were Found in the Fog

Featured track, available from September 12 to September 20

Since Federal Lights first stepped out on the stage a few short years ago at New Music Wednesdays, no less, fans have been waiting patiently for an album. They got a first taste with 2011's EP, Carbon. Now, the indie rock outfit offers up its full-length debut, We Were Found in the Fog. Produced by Imaginary Cities' Rusty Matyas and out on Toronto's Aporia Records, the album has already landed the top spot on CBC's R3-30 and earned raves, while the band has been touring across Canada (and making an appearing in the Loft Sessions). That tour finishes off in Winnipeg with a hometown release party at the West End Cultural Centre on September 12. Next up, Federal Lights will head across the ocean for a showcase at Germany's Reeperbahn Festival along with a few dates in England. But first, we've got a very special treat for you. This week's featured download, "We All Break", happens to be a B-side from the new record and will only otherwise be available with the upcoming vinyl version. Get it here first, check out the complete album, and don't miss Federal Lights live on stage! Click here for show info


Looking to promote new music and upcoming shows / activity? Manitoba Music members can request a Song of the Week by emailing Spots are booked on a first-come, first-served basis, and sometimes fill up a few months in advance so be sure to reach out early! These songs are made available with permission of the artists/copyright holders and all rights have been acquired.

List more music