Manitoba Music and The Songwriters Association of Canada Bring Collaborative Songwriting Session Back to Manitoba

Posted on

Manitoba Music and the Songwriters Association of Canada (S.A.C.) are pleased to announce the third session of the innovative collaborative project, SongWorks. Taking place March 10-13 in the Whiteshell, the S.A.C. initiative is designed to bring professional songwriters and artists together to create new Canadian songs for upcoming recording artists’ releases.

The Manitoba session brings together an impressive list of both established and emerging singer/songwriters, including: JD Edwards, Julia Ryckman (This Hisses), Bobby Desjarlais (Attica Riots, The Bokononists), Chantel Emond (French Press), Erin Propp, Heitha Forsyth (Sol James); and songwriter/producers Chris Hannah (Propagandhi), Tyler Del Pino, and Nathan Reimer (Moses Mayes, LeBeato).

“We are thrilled to be partnering with Manitoba Music in this incredibly successful collaboration workshop where exciting creative partnerships blossom,” said Toronto-based S.A.C. managing director Isabel Crack.

”Manitoba has a long history of exciting songwriters and SongWorks is a great tool to help foster new talent and new connections,” says Manitoba Music executive director Sara Stasiuk. “This is a great opportunity to bring together songwriters and producers that might not otherwise have had the chance to collaborate.”

Previous SongWorks sessions in Manitoba have yielded stellar results from a diverse collection of songwriters. Ruth Moody included her 2009 SongWorks collaboration with Royal Canoe's Matt Peters and producer Derek Norton on her Juno Award-nominated album, The Garden. Western Canadian Music Award-winning producer Arun Chaturvedi and Sony/ATV Music Publishing artists Phil Deschambault and Heather Longstaffe have all received multiple placements in film, television, and commercials based on music conceived at the second edition of SongWorks in 2011.

Financial assistance for SongWorks comes from the Songwriters Association of Canada via a grant from the SOCAN Foundation, through the Creators Assistance Program of the Canada Music Fund.

Read more news